2016 Lessons

Hello March!

New year, new stories, new conflicts, new experiences, and new lessons. But before that, I’d like to share just 5 of my 2016 lessons (to remind also my future self):

  1. My work is provided by the Lord.

    For everything, absolutely everything, visible and invisible, above and below, everything got started in Him and finds its purpose in Him. (Colossians 1:16 MSG)

    The start of 2016, God has  been so gracious that even if I’m in the middle of my medications, He still gave me something to work with. By the start of January I got an assignment shoot. Even on the next month February, March, April. I’ve witnessed a 3-day event, and shoot a pre-nup of a couple, and even their wedding. I also got an opportunity to shoot a family portrait. I’ve met people who love the Lord. God has been there. And also, after that month, I got  a job offer in Manila. This job is related to what I’ve been  interested to. I believe God has been sending gifts for me that I should also learn to be a good steward, comparing to my previous work experiences.

  2. My God is my provider.

    And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:19 NLT)

    Since I started working full-time in Manila, a new environment, people, culture, I have been so uncomfortable and not used to what I have been living. But you know, I’ve witnessed how the Lord provides for my needs. Even in the littlest things that made me experienced how He really loves me.

  3. You cant please everybody.

    Do not conform yourselves to the standards of this world, but let God transform you inwardly by a complete change of your mind. Then you will be able to know the will of God—what is good and is pleasing to him and is perfect. (Romans 12:2 TEV)

    This world views you as to the number of likes you got on social media platforms. But actually, it will only give you temporary significance. Because people change, everything you see here changes, even yourself. To find significance in everything you do, don’t make it a top priority to please people, but please the only one–your Master. The one who doesn’t change and constant, but can change everything.

  4. Character is important than comfort.

    Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. (James 1:2-4 NIV)

    When I get disappointed by my expectations in life and when conflict situation arises, then I will be shaken. Things will get disrupted and uncomfortable. But actually what we want is not what we really need. The want here is the comfort and problem-free life, but the reality is, life is a series of discomforts and why is that? Because it reveals how we are able to respond to those situations. It is a test. It reveals our character and it will make us step back and assess our situation and our own selves. It is God’s way of changing our heart, our character–to be mature and wise.

  5. Letting God be God, surrender what I cannot control.

    Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6-7 NLT)

    You know sometimes when we worry, it is a sign where we tend to control something we are worried on. Realizing that the things we want to control is not under our authority, like the weather, the people, our circumstances, our future, even our life. When we want to control something, we are acting like God. Instead of being controlling by worrying, I pray my worries to my Father God, whom I surrendered my life with. And do instead the things that I can control like how I discipline myself, and how I respond to people.

Leave a Reply

