2015 Lessons

Dear KS,

Here are my list of lessons, from my personal experiences, from the past year 2015:

  1. God is knowable. (from Harold Sala on his book Just for Today)
    I always bring my sister’s Bible but I wasn’t actually reading it. It was the start of the year that I began my Bible in a Year plan. There will be that time when you feel there’s darkness in your life that you really seek the “true light”.  I tell you once you have this thirst, this true light will be revealed to you. By earnestly seeking, the Lord uses people whom I met, that guided me in rediscovering the Lord. The first step is to know His word thru the Bible. It isn’t enough to just know the name of His son Jesus, but to passionately ask wisdom about the truth about His purpose, why He died for us. You might think you already know, but please assess that into your heart now and ask– do I really know the Lord? Do I really know Jesus? If you want to start over again, I recommend you please open the Bible and read the book of John first.

    “In him and through faith in him we may approach God with freedom and confidence.” (Ephesians 3:12 NIV)

  2.  Pray for those who persecute you. (from God)
    When we feel discouraged or degraded by the people around us, anger and hate will automatically gets into our heart. But please don’t fall into this automatic reaction and do the opposite. Stop talking with your mouth and start talking with your heart with the Lord. Ask the Lord to control your emotions. Pray for guidance on how you will respond to the situation. And pray for the hearts of those people. Surely, the Lord will protect you from evil and open your eyes and He will give you wisdom on how to interact with these people.

    “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you..” (Matthew 5:43-44 NIV)

  3. The love of God is permanent. (from One by One book)
    He’s always there, if you believe, then you will know it. And if you continue to walk in the Light, then your life will be blessed. Blessed doesn’t mean you wont have problems in life, but whenever you encounter a lot of them, you are assured that He will protect you no matter what. The transition of light that I had from 2014 to 2015 was high contrasted. People may not see it on  my current life yet, but He works on the inside first (on your character), that will eventually change the outside. I am overwhelmed by His love and His presence always.

    “What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31 NIV)

  4. Your purpose and meaning in life can only be found in God. (from a pastor during Sunday service)
    At the age of 21, I started to have that passion to pursue and follow my dream career in life. The first opportunity was on the year 2014. But the Lord is such a loving God that on that same year, He tapped on my shoulders and stopped my walking to this mountain that I thought the right mountain. He let me see another path of light that lead me to His way of disciplining me about my wrong pursuit. He taught me that the real pursuit in this life is to pursue Him–I mean, pursue intimacy with Him alone. This was just the start of rediscovering who I am and His plans for my life.

     “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV)

  5. The secret of religion is religion in secret. (from the prayer in Abide)
    Whatever your religion is right now and whatever your practices are that other people may see and know, it does not define what your spiritual being really is. Because your relationship with God has to be “personal”. You have to have that personal encounter with the Lord. If not, then you will never understand what I’m talking here in my post.

    “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13 NIV)

  6. It’s not about you.
    When I hear a social event or a fellowship, it cringes me and gives me paranoia to meet strangers talk to me like they were my close friends. I had this insecurities of being socially awkward and feel alone in the crowd. These feelings reminded me that I’ve been always thinking about “me”, and not about Him. In everything we do, we do it always for His glory, not by self gain. So when God made me realize this, I had confidence and courage to be socially awkward with a group of people, being assured that He will help me connect with people by telling stories about His works on my life.

    “For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me and for the gospel will save it.” (Mark 8:35 NIV)

  7. Walking is the simplest and best exercise.
    Having figured out about my Still’s disease, I was pushed and advised to exercise daily every morning. Though my body was in pain while walking, the movement for 30 minutes gives my body warmth and the pain felt like normal when I walk. That’s why this will be a reminder for me right now to go back to the routine I used to do before. Please pray for me for this.

 

These are just a few lessons God has been teaching me. I pray that I will be able to share more stories about my own experiences in my walk with the Lord in this blog. 😉

mclarrainet

Leave a Reply

